Good Time for a Bargain

Whew! I don’t go on vacation very often but when I do I always wonder: “Why don’t you do that more often?” The answer, of course, is that travel drains my already modest pocketbook in a hurry. Little dough left over for books.
spirits.jpg
Though not everything I did this past week cost money. One thing I like to do when I visit a new city is poke my head inside other independent bookstores. Of course, I rarely purchase anything from these out-of-state stores — I have many faults (shuddup!), but I am loyal — but I look around just for the fun of it. For example, last week I flew into the Eliott Bay Bookstore in Seattle. It’s no River City Books, but I was impressed. If you ever find yourself in the Emerald City, take a gander at the treats in the basement of that bookstore.

Another reason I don’t travel more often is that while I’m gone the work just seems to pile up and, try as I might, I can’t seem to get anyone in the nearby nests to do it for me. Let me tell you, it’s not easy being the only literary bird in the forest.

As always happens after a break, there’s a lot of ground to cover and I’ll get back to the regular routine quick like. Since I haven’t picked a remainder of the week yet this month, let’s start at the RCB bargain table.

Four Spirits by Sena Jeter Naslund is currently on sale in hardcover for just $6.98. Naslund is the winner of the Harper Lee Award and also author of the critically acclaimed Ahab’s Wife.

From the book’s dust jacket: “Stella Silver is an idealistic, young white college student brought up by her genteel, mannered aunts. She first witnesses the events of the freedom movement from a safe distance but, along with her friend Cat Cartwright, is soon drawn into the mounting conflagration. Stella’s and Cat’s lives are forever altered by their new friendships with other committed freedom fighters.”

Nothing better than a great bargain right after paying the vacation tab.

Explore posts in the same categories: Bargains, Recommendations

Leave a Reply

