Five Questions: Abby Brogger

Regular readers know that I dig for the hard-hitting angles that can’t be found anywhere else. Sometimes that means asking tough questions of newsmakers.

abby2.jpgMy most recent exclusive interview was with Abby Brogger, a professional young woman and all around fun person who is a candidate for the 2007 Miss Defeat of Jesse James Days Royalty Scholarship Coronation. Brogger, who has a passion for DJJD, is being sponsored in the coronation by everyone’s favorite neighborhood bookstore.

Brogger, the daughter of John Brogger Jr. and Julie Daley, is a 2005 graduate of Northfield High School, where she was a very active student. Among her extracurricular activities, she was a member of the girls hockey team and was on the student council. She also served as junior and senior class president and won the Raider Spirit Award. This fall Brogger will be a sophomore at the University of Minnesota.

In anticipation of the big event, I asked Brogger five questions (actually, it’s a few more than five, but I’ve never been big on math).

The Raven: What are you majoring in at the university? Do you know what you want to do after graduation?

Abby Brogger: My decided majors are human resource development, communications studies as well as a minor in leadership. Following graduation, I initially would like to join AmeriCorps and volunteer for a year before joining the workforce.

TR: Have you ever done anything like this before?

AB: The Defeat of Jesse James Days scholarship program is the first pageant that I have participated in.

TR: Is the process fun? Or it is too stressful to be fun?

AB: The process so far has been fun. It is great to be able to spend time with some girls that I maybe would not have gotten to know otherwise.

TR: What are your hobbies and interests outside of school and the pageant?

AB: I enjoy spending my free time, when not working (she works at Applebee’s and Gap Kids/Baby Gap in Burnsville) watching movies with friends and/or family. I am a fan of Twins baseball as well. When I get the chance, it is also entertaining to play card and board games with my family. I also have a passion for helping others, and when I am able to I enjoy volunteering my time to various organizations.

TR: What are your thoughts about being the first candidate sponsored by my home away from home?

AB: Obviously being the first candidate ever sponsored by River City Books is an honor. My only hope is that I can represent the bookstore in a positive manner as well as promote it at the same time.

crime.jpgTR: Since I have a bit of a reading problem, I must ask. What’s the last good book you read?

AB: The last good book that I read (and also one of my favorites) was Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky. It is extremely well written, and although a larger book, it always keeps the reader interested.

For those who don’t already have tickets, the DJJD royalty scholarship coronation will be at 7 p.m., Saturday, Aug. 19, at Northfield Middle School. Good luck to Brogger and the rest of the candidates.

Explore posts in the same categories: Non-Books

Leave a Reply

