What’s On the Book Tube

I confess I don’t watch much television. Can’t tell you what most of the best shows are, though I have heard game shows hosted by comedians are big. With so many great books available, and given the responsibilities of a bird of my stature in the community, I simply don’t have the time.

But when I do flip on the tube I try to check out what’s on Book TV. Doesn’t always happen, but sometimes I learn about books and authors I had no idea existed but because Book TV shined its spotlight I was better for it. I perused the schedule for this weekend and found a couple of programs that I thought would be of general interest:

At 6:45 a.m. (repeated at 11 a.m.) Sunday is “Print on Demand: A Revolution in the Making.” In a talk that was part of the Fourth Annual International Conference on the Book hosted by Emerson College in Boston, Jason Epstein, co-founder of the New York Review of Books and of On Demand Books, talks about On Demand’s Espresso Book Machine, which can print up to 20 books per hour. Sounds fascinating.

At 10 a.m. (repeated at 6 p.m.) Sunday is “Inside the New York Times Book Review.” Editor Sam Tanenhaus shows how an issue is created, introduces many staff members, talks about how books are selected and rejected, how reviewers are chosen, how the publication is composed and laid out, how headlines, blurbs and artwork are created, and how letters from readers are edited and chosen.

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Notes

Leave a Reply

