Digging Out From Under

young.jpgMy sincerest apologies. I have been under the weather and, to be frank, I am still climbing back to as close to normal as I get. So the updates have been slow. I have gotten behind. This has caused you anxiety. I am sorry. So sorry.

In my absence the River City Books fiction book club met and discussed Housekeeping by Marilyn Robinson, a book I read thinking I might be able to make the meeting. But alas. If you haven’t checked out this early work by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Gilead, I highly recommend it.

The club also made its March selection — When All the World was Young, a memoir by Barbara Holland. A publisher-produced blurb about this book: “Mixing tales of an autocratic stepfather, a brilliant, reclusive mother, and a houseful of siblings with jump-rope rhymes and dangerous sled runs, teachers both wise and weird, and a child’s-eye view of war, Holland gives readers a unique and sharp-eyed look at history and the world of childhood as it used to be.”

I’ll keep trying to play catch up. You keep throwing an extra log on the fire.

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Clubs

Leave a Reply

