Now That’s An Achievement

everyman.JPGSure, the academy awards involve beautiful people in ungodly costumes babbling on for five hours, but for my money the PEN/Faulkner award is more prestigious. In case you didn’t hear the acceptance speech, this year’s winner made history as Philip Roth, one of my favorite writers, won the award for fiction for his novel Everyman, his third PEN/Faulkner award.

According to wire services, judge Debra Magpie Earling commented: “It’s such a slim volume, and the book haunts me, its simplicity and brutishness, the unflinching look at life. Roth never looks away, never trivializes, never shrugs. He manages to wrestle with grief, the immensity of losing self.”

Runners up were The Dead Fish Museum by Charles D’Ambrosio, Twilight of the Superheroes by Deborah Eisenberg, The Collected Stories of Amy Hempel by Amy Hempel and All Aunt Hagar’s Children by Edward P. Jones.

Roth’s other PEN/Faulkner winners were Operation Shylock in 1994 and The Human Stain in 2001.

If you haven’t read “Everyman,” stop by River City Books and pick up a copy. Or pre-order a paperback copy.

Explore posts in the same categories: Book News, Recommendations

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: