Pretty Good Gift Idea: Mark the Days

calendars2Sometimes I need a gift to wow someone. I mean, really blow them away with my creativity and maybe even show them that my wallet does, in fact, open up. But quite often, especially in these economic times, I want to give a small gift that shows I am thinking of you but not going overboard to the point where the person thinks “gee, I didn’t know we were such good friends.”

In these situations I remember that the old neighborhood bookstore has calendars galore, including wall, page-a-day and engagement options. Themes include (but are not limited to) animals, children, gardening, farming, landscapes, nature, art, photography, quilting, sailing, unique places, and spirituality.

Calendars are a pretty good gift idea because they are snazzy, they don’t cost much and everyone needs at least one (and most need two, — one for home, another for office). On Saturday I was in the store and talked to a gentleman who purchased four of those fancy new Carleton College-produced calendars, the ones that include all kinds of great shots of Northfield. If you haven’t seen them yet, stop on by the store. I know you’ll like ’em. And they are an especially good gift option for the friend who relocated to a lesser place.

Explore posts in the same categories: Gift Ideas

Leave a Reply

