Archive for May 30, 2008

Bargains for the Weekend

May 30, 2008

It’s almost here, the weekend, time to relax and enjoy a good book. I never get as much reading time during the week as I would like. During the weekend, though, I can usually carve out a few hours to sit in the next (or hammock, as it were) and dig into a great read.

Unfortunately, I spent too much money at the grocery store the other day. But, fortunately, I don’t have to spend much to find a good book at the old neighborhood bookstore. In fact, there are dozens of interesting hardcovers and paperbacks on sale for well below cover price. Every day.

I was just browsing the bargain book tables and spotted two titles from Minnesota author Alison McGhee. I read Shadow Baby last year and highly recommend it. I have not checked out Snap as of yet, but I have heard good things. McGhee’s prose is tight and her characters are worth caring about.

Good news: You can buy both for less than the price of a single hardcover. While supplies last.